Home #Hwoodtimes A Conversation with Country Music Singer/Songwriter Kent Blazy Re His New Album...

A Conversation with Country Music Singer/Songwriter Kent Blazy Re His New Album “My Life So Far”

Kent Blazy "My Life So Far" (Cover Photo: Ed Rode; Art Design: Nancy Terzian)

By Judy Shields

Los Angeles, California (The Hollywood Times) 07/08/2024 – “My new record My Life So Far is a celebration of where I am now. This album was inspired by the death of two people who were an important part of my early 20s.  Writing for this album was an emotional yet fun project”, shared Kent Blazy.

Hitmaker and Nashville Songwriter Hall of Fame member, Kent Blazy announced the release of his new album, My Life So Far. The new music is available everywhere now on music streaming and download platforms HERE.

Recorded at the Emporium Recording Studio in Nashville, the eleven-song project honors his remarkable journey. It showcases compositions penned by Kent Blazy, except track eleven, which was co-written with Garth Brooks.

My Life So Far Tracklist
1)  One Big Love (Kent Blazy)
2)  Feeling Alive Again (Kent Blazy)
3)  Thank Him Everyday (Kent Blazy)
4)  Can’t Sleep With You (Kent Blazy)
5)  Who Really Rescued Who (Kent Blazy)
6)  This Songs For You (Kent Blazy)
7)  Still My Only Child (Kent Blazy)
8)  The Devil’s Music (Kent Blazy)
9)  Nature Of The Beast (Kent Blazy)
10) Empty House (Kent Blazy)
11) For A Minute There (Full Demo) (Garth Brooks and Kent Blazy)

I had the great opportunity to talk with Kent Blazy about each of his 11 songs.  Grab those headphones/earbuds, a drink of your choice and enjoy our conversation:

Don’t forget to purchase the new album today.  It’s really a great one to add to your playlist.  Eleven song’s that will bring you joy of memories from one of Nashville’s best songwriters Kent Blazy. Judy Shields, The Hollywood Times

My Life So Far was mixed and engineered by Chris UtleyJohn Mayfield of Mayfield Mastering did mastering. Front Cover photo is credited to Ed Rode and back cover photo is credited to Cindy Blazy.  Graphic art is by Nancy Terzian. Studio musicians included Lee Francis (bass), Kevin Murphy (drums), Steve Allen (guitars), Kent Blazy (guitars, vocals).

Stay current with Kent Blazy on his website, www.kentblazy.com. Follow him on Facebook and Instagram, and watch videos on the official artist YouTube.

Music can be found on all digital music platforms for streaming and download at CD BabyiTunesApple MusicSpotifyAmazon MusicYouTube Music and Pandora.

About Kent Blazy:

Kent Blazy (Photo Credit: Moments By Moser Photography)

Kent Blazy is an American country music songwriter from Lexington, KY who now calls Nashville, TN home. Kent Blazy was inducted into the 2020 Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame class during the Golden Anniversary, plus one during the special 50th and 51st Gala. The Kentucky native songwriter’s credits include, “If Tomorrow Never Comes” (Garth Brooks), “Ain’t Goin’ Down (’Til The Sun Comes Up)” (Garth Brooks), and “Gettin’ You Home (The Black Dress Song)” (Chris Young).  Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame member Garth Brooks took the stage to present inductee Kent Blazy and perform their hit “If Tomorrow Never Comes.” Blazy and Brooks met in 1987 and began writing together.  His credits include several singles for Garth Brooks, as well as singles by Gary Morris, Diamond Rio, Patty Loveless, and Chris Young. Blazy has a total of seven number-one hits to his credit.

Kent Blazy was raised in Lexington, Kentucky.  At an early age, he played rhythm guitar and sang in various local bands, citing The Byrds, Rodney Crowell, and Joe Ely as influences.  He later played for Canadian singer Ian Tyson.  Later on, Blazy met former Exile member Mark Gray, who suggested that Blazy move to Nashville, Tennessee.  Eventually, he signed to a publishing contract, but the publishing company closed; despite losing the contract, Gary Morris sent Blazy’s “Headed for a Heartache” into the top 5 on the country charts.  By the late 1980s, Blazy met with a then-unknown Garth Brooks, who gave him the idea for a song entitled “If Tomorrow Never Comes.”  He and Brooks co-wrote the song, which became Brooks’ first number-one hit.  Brooks continued to record Blazy’s material throughout the 1990s, including the singles “Ain’t Goin’ Down (‘Til the Sun Comes Up),” “It’s Midnight Cinderella,” “She’s Gonna Make It,” “Somewhere Other Than the Night” and the George Jones duet “Beer Run (B Double E Double Are You In?).” He also co-wrote “That’s What I Get for Lovin’ You” by Diamond Rio and “Can’t Get Enough” by Patty Loveless in the late 1990s.

Blazy and songwriters Pat Alger, Tony Arata, and Kim Williams recorded an album entitled A Songwriters’ Tribute to Garth Brooks, including their renditions of songs they had written for Brooks. This album was released in 2001 via VFR Records. Other songs that Blazy has co-written include, “You Can Let Go” by Crystal Shawanda and “Gettin’ You Home (The Black Dress Song)” by Chris Young from 2008 and 2009 respectively, as well as American Idol season 8 finalist Danny Gokey’s debut single “My Best Days Are Ahead of Me.”